I got ninety nine problems but the blog ain’t one

I’ve made it! This is blog post number 100! I could never imagined that this would happen when I started this blog two years ago. My first blog post was published on the 11th of October 2014, and was called ”Welcome”. In that post, I claim myself to be an agileist, with the following definition:

To fully define an agileist – he or she helps and coaches other people, thinks a step further, and is also realistic and know that there is a long way to go to ”reach for the stars”.

I have tried to think a step further and to share this with you. Hopefully I’ve made some valuable contributions during these two years, but you are really the one to tell me if I have fulfilled my promise or not.

Most popular blog posts

Here is the top ten list:

  1. The Arrow – Advanced kanban board
  2. Priority pyramid
  3. Trello as ”whiteboard simulator”
  4. Scrum and XP from the trenches, 2nd edition
  5. The Volcano – Enterprise kanban board
  6. The Nature of Software Development
  7. Soft Skills
  8. Applied Capacity Planning
  9. Personal Kanban in Favro
  10. Lean and Agile in three pictures

I’m very honored that two of my visualizations are in the top! Visualizations have been the topic where I’ve done most work, and hopefully contributed the most. Are there any blog posts that I think deserves a bigger audience? Yes, here is that list:

  1. Google Docs, Sheets & Slides in remote meetings
  2. Bug Triage
  3. Agile captains
  4. Feedback Loops 2.0
  5. The Circles – Products´ lifecycle visualization

Monthly statistics

After a slow start, the blog has pretty solidly reached over 1000 page views per month, for which I am super happy! The best month (February 2016) reached 2276 page views, thanks to the post about using Trello as a ”whiteboard simulator”.

”Monthly

Visitors from all over the world

The picture below shows that this blog have had visitors from an amazing 128 countries! This is totally mind blowing! It is difficult to grasp that people from as remote places (from me) like Lesotho, Mongolia, French Polynesia and Nepal have visited my blog.

”Visitors

When it comes to countries with most visitors the top 20 looks like this:

  1. Unites States
  2. United Kingdom
  3. Sweden
  4. Germany
  5. Brazil
  6. France
  7. Canada
  8. Russia
  9. Australia
  10. India
  11. Spain
  12. Poland
  13. Netherlands
  14. Italy
  15. Belgium
  16. Ukraine
  17. Denmark
  18. Ireland
  19. Finland
  20. Norway

In the future to come

What will happen now? To be honest I don’t really now. I’ve kept track on how much time I have spent on blogging during these two years and the total is 400 hours. Given that I’ve written 100 blog posts, that gives 4 hours per blog post in average. In the beginning they took a bit longer to write, nowadays that time is shorter (hopefully it’s because my writing has improved, not me being lazy). I have not earned anything on blogging, apart from the experience and fruitful feedback from you (that makes it worthwhile). So in one form or another I will hopefully continue, despite that I have 99 (literately) other things going on. I have a full time work, a wife and two kids that have their activities that I support, and I also have my own other interests. The time for blogging is limited to say the least.

Summary

What do you think of this blog? Does it bring value to you as a reader? I would really like if you could take some time to give me feedback. Maybe you have some ideas on topics that you want me to cover?Thank you very much for reading! Arrivederci!

All the best,
 Tomas from TheAgileist

Leave a Reply

